top of page
SaeidehRostami_edited_edited.jpg

PhD. candidate in plant biology

Understanding the interaction between Clavibacter michiganensis, the tomato plant and the biological control agents

Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum L.) is one of the most consumed vegetables in the world. Nowadays, bacterial canker of tomato, caused by the Gram-positive bacterium, Clavibacter michiganensis (Cm) is one of the most destructive and hard to control diseases affecting tomatoes greenhouses in Quebec due to the lack of genetic resistance or effective chemical or biological control. Currently, the only way to control this disease is by using chemical disinfection and by eliminating contaminated plants. For this purpose, it becomes essential to deepen our understanding of Cm affecting Quebec greenhouses and to develop new and efficient control methods to reduce the impact of Cm in conventional and organic greenhouse tomato production in Quebec. Through this project we will develop a collection of Cm isolated and sequence their genome to uncover the genetic diversity of this pathogen in the province. We will also study if and how those isolates can be controlled by a Bacillus-based biocontrol agent. Finally, we plan to develop strategies for effective control to ensure economic stability and sustainable agriculture by testing different disinfectant products such as disinfectants, prophylactic products, and growth-stimulating products. This project will have a great positive impact on Quebec greenhouse industry and the development of Quebec biotechnology industry.

Brochu, A. S. (2023). Développement d'un outil moléculaire quantitatif pour le diagnostic de l'agent pathogène Clavibacter michiganensis. Master thesis, Laval université.

Brochu, A. S., Durrivage, J., Torres, D., and Pérez-López, E. (2023). Diet and Injection, Important Recommendations to Characterize Clavibacter michiganensis–Tomato Interactions. Plant Health Progress, 24(4), 475-481.

Benchlih, S., Esmaeel, Q., Aberkani, K., Tahiri, A., Belabess, Z., Lahlali, R., and Barka, E. A. (2023). Modes of Action of Biocontrol Agents and Elicitors for sustainable Protection against Bacterial Canker of Tomato. Microorganisms, 11(3), 726.

REFERENCES

bottom of page

top of page
SaeidehRostami_edited_edited.jpg

Candidate au doctorat en biologie végétale

Comprendre l'interaction entre Clavibacter michiganensis, la tomate et les agents de lutte biologique

La tomate (Solanum lycopersicum L.) est l'un des légumes les plus consommés au monde. De nos jours, le chancre bactérien de la tomate, causé par la bactérie Gram-positive Clavibacter michiganensis (Cm), est l'une des maladies les plus destructrices et les plus difficiles à contrôler affectant les serres de tomates au Québec en raison du manque de résistance génétique ou de contrôle chimique ou biologique efficace. Actuellement, la seule façon de contrôler cette maladie consiste à recourir à la désinfection chimique et à éliminer les plantes contaminées. À cet effet, il devient essentiel d'approfondir notre compréhension du Cm affectant les serres québécoises et de développer de nouvelles méthodes de contrôle efficaces pour réduire l'impact du Cm dans la production de tomates en serre conventionnelle et biologique au Québec. Grâce à ce projet, nous développerons une collection de Cm isolés et séquencerons leur génome pour découvrir la diversité génétique de ce pathogène dans la province. Nous évaluerons également le contrôle biologique de Cm par l'utilisation de produits biologiques à base de Bacillus. Enfin, nous prévoyons de développer des stratégies de contrôle efficace pour assurer la stabilité économique et une agriculture durable en testant différents produits désinfectants tels que des désinfectants, des produits prophylactiques et des produits stimulant la croissance. Ce projet aura un impact important pour l'industrie serricole québécoise et le développement des biotechnologies au Québec.

Brochu, A. S. (2023). Développement d'un outil moléculaire quantitatif pour le diagnostic de l'agent pathogène Clavibacter michiganensis. Master thesis, Laval université.

Brochu, A. S., Durrivage, J., Torres, D., and Pérez-López, E. (2023). Diet and Injection, Important Recommendations to Characterize Clavibacter michiganensis–Tomato Interactions. Plant Health Progress, 24(4), 475-481.

Benchlih, S., Esmaeel, Q., Aberkani, K., Tahiri, A., Belabess, Z., Lahlali, R., and Barka, E. A. (2023). Modes of Action of Biocontrol Agents and Elicitors for sustainable Protection against Bacterial Canker of Tomato. Microorganisms, 11(3), 726.

RÉFÉRENCES BIBLIOGRAPHIQUES

bottom of page